Life Without Hope – a poem

Its a game and I’m losing

A swimming pool and I’m drowning

It’s a wood fire and I’m burning

The end’s coming around soon

 

It’s ice and I’m skating

From on high and I’m falling

A volcano and I’m erupting

Almost time to fade away

 

A butterfly whose hours are numbered

A fledgling about to be attacked

A fish about to swim into a net

The game is almost over

 

Just a dusty piece of string

It could have meant anything

Just swaying in a gentle breeze

It was supposed to mean something

 

So you light the piece of string

At once ablaze, simply burning

I wasn’t made to be that way

But I succumbed and here I lay

 

It’s a game and I am losing

A pile of leaves and I am burning

And when the embers are cold and black

The remains will scatter with the wind

 

What chaos brought me here?

Divine plan and haunted history

A few friends, a few smiles and tears

And what will be left when I am gone?

No legacy to call my own.

Leave a Reply

