Thought for the day: 11 March 2017

every-exit-3

I guess it’s all about perspective. For every ending, there’s a new beginning.

The six month contract I started early May last year was supposed to run until late October, but was extended until late December and is now on a month by month basis. The government department I’m contracted to is upgrading a specific computer system and outsourcing several tasks that my colleague and I have been performing. Now I can see the progressΒ being made in terms of the system upgrade, and the gradual transition of responsibilities to the new supplier. It’s been interesting to watch the initial steps of the project which were small and tentative, slowly growing into larger and more confident steps as the project progressed. I expect my role to change fairly significantly in the next four to six weeks as my part of the project begins winding down, and I’m happy about that.

As I prepare the face my exit from this role, I believe that every exit really is an entrance to somewhere else – and it will be interesting to see what’s next. And I’m looking forward to the completion of this step, and to whatever the next step will be. The way I see it, a door (or gate) has two sides: from one side it’s an exit, from the other side it’s an entrance. So once again, it’s all about perspective and how I choose to look at this. Here’s to an enjoyable exit, and the opportunities and possibilities a new entrance may bring!

 

9 thoughts on “Thought for the day: 11 March 2017

  1. Sounds like you’ve accomplished quite a bit in your current contract, and I bet they are glad to have you.

    All the best in your next chapter! I admire your perspective on this, and I hope an even better contract is waiting for you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kindness and good wishes. I believe that ‘change comes bearing gifts’ and with every new opportunity there are unseen benefits that can take a while to find – so looking forward to whatever’s next and whatever those benefits might be 😊😊 Thanks again

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there! I chanced upon your blog via WordPress! Lovely format – with all the quotes & pics! I also love those positive, inspiring & meaningful quotes but I usually post them in my IG account. πŸ™‚ Great musings, too. You will be fine – a NEW opportunity will come up sooner. Much better! I had retired from the corporate world and now into writing and blogging. This is my NEW world! πŸ™‚ Another door has opened after many years of working but hey, not complaining as I love writing! I feel this is one off my bucketlist! πŸ™‚
    I had the chance to visit NZ autumn of last year with my hubby – MAY 2016. I am a Filipino and I have very good Filipino friends now NZ residents ( MBA classmates ) in Auckland and a HS classmate in Wellington. We went to Queenstown, Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland with side trips to Rotorua, Akaroa, Hamner Springs! NZ is awesome! We had a great time! We want to go back! Such an amazing place! Hope you can also drop by my blog. It’s a fairly new blog : https://happywife603.wordpress.com. Thanks so much. Keep on writing! Glad to have met you here, Ruth! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comments and feedback – always appreciated! Sounds like you saw quite a bit of New Zealand – glad you had a great time. How wonderful to have the opportunity to write! I wish you well in your ventures and look forward to connecting again. Lovely to have met you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

