Thought for the day: 21 December 2016

cease-striving

Cease striving. That’s what I’m attempting to do at present. I haven’t been writing so much lately but I have been taking photos most days and am enjoying playing with my photos, altering the colours & exposure and adding effects and filters etc. I’m loving this creative medium. I’ve also been avidly hunting for appropriate inspirational sayings and quotes and have spent some time creating my own versions of said quotes such as the one above and the ones that I’ve used in the past month or two. I’ve really enjoyed the photography and creating my own take on these quotes by adding my own photos as the background. Consequently, I haven’t been walking so much or writing so much and life’s been busy and it’s the week before Christmas – and I’m ok with that. I feel like I’m being creative and attempting to maintain my blog’s inspirational theme without spending much time writing. Why am I justifying this to you? Good question. The answer is a matter of time – that is, not having enough but trying to make good use of what I do have.

I’m also working through a few issues which I feel like I’m making progress on but not wanting to specify yet. I’m keen to write about what I’m learning but I’d rather wait until I’m a little further down the track and have a better handle on what it is I’m learning rather than just the issues at hand. Does that make sense?

However I still want to feel like I’m moving forward with my blog (which has been so much more of an encouragement to me than I ever dreamed), plus being creative and exploring my own ‘stuff’ while still allowing myself time to chill and relax a little over the Christmas break. Suffice to say, I hope you’ll enjoy my creative efforts – even if they are somewhat minimal for the time being.

And hopefully I’m also learning about not striving simply to do my own thing but learning to enjoy the things that need to be done.  And taking time just to be.

With gratitude,

R.H.

8 thoughts on “Thought for the day: 21 December 2016

  1. I do find Christmas a good time for self-reflection and start a sort of mental debrief of the year that’s been. Thanks for the feedback about hope & optimism – I hadn’t made that observation so that’s really helpful, thanks. And once again, thanks for commenting. Hope you’re enjoying a great Melbourne summer!! Take care 🙂

    Like

  2. This is a great thought for all of our endeavors! And while we are at it, we may as well enjoy ourselves as we get things done. You are right, this time of year is a great time to do a bit of reflection. And Miriam is right too, your message today does sound full of hope and optimism as you continue to exercise your creative muscles. 😉 I wish you the best as you move forward and keep learning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. I’m looking forward to learning more about myself as well as appreciating the environment around me. Thanks for reinforcing the hope & optimism – I really appreciate that. Wishing you all the best for the holiday season. Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

