Suck it up

suck-it-up

Perhaps not profound, and certainly not my own words but I’m choosing to borrow them – to remind myself that sometimes that’s what we have to do: just suck it up and move on.

As I’ve become older my expectations have diminished. I still have a sense of hope and I consistently feel hopeful, but my expectations are relatively low compared to my hopes in years gone by. Is that because I’m more content with my life now, or more realistic about my hopes, or both? 

I don’t have the confidence I had 10 years ago and I guess that’s had an impact on my desires and dreams, my hopes and goals.  But because my expectations are less, they are also more easily achieved. And if my expectations are exceeded, well that’s a bonus.

I realise I’m trying to say something positive – and it just sounds pessimistic but that’s not really how I mean it. What I’m trying to say is – ‘Life is tough. Get on with it’.

There seems to be so many people around these days with a sense of entitlement – that sense of “I deserve this” (whatever ‘this’ might be). It’s as if everyone thinks they are special – or we all want to be special, or be seen as special. And because we all think we’re special – there’s a mediocrity about that, a sameness about our wanting to be special that detracts from our uniqueness rather than enhancing it.

But then I remember, we ARE all special, and unique, and wonderfully different from each other – and that’s ok too. It’s ok to want to be special, because we are. You are! I am! We are each a ‘one-off’, an original work of art.

But in spite of our uniqueness, there are times we need to put aside our own stuff and just get on with life. I think that’s what I’m really trying to say. I know it’s tough but we need to keep going. One day at a time. One step at a time. 

Sometimes I need to remind myself of this:

“Just suck it up princess and keep going. It’s gonna be ok.”

5 thoughts on “Suck it up

  1. At my age, my confidence comes from my long distance running and my comfort in “my own skin”. I have learned to like me just as I am, quirky, gray-haired, eternally optimistic and loving the world just as I find it. I can honestly say that I am having a better time now than when I was younger because I am not as driven. I like to think that I am just content these days as I head off into my next adventure and where life takes me.
    I just love how you articulated where you are in this piece above.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

