It’s All About Attitude

“Can a man change the stars, father?”

“Yes William. If he believes enough, a man can do anything”                                                                                                                                                                               -A Knight’s Tale

While it’s not the deepest movie, I must admit I enjoyed  ‘A Knight’s Tale’ on a number of different levels. I like the humour – especially Mr Chaucer! I like the simple story-line and that it deals with a cross-section of society from the very rich to the very poor. I also like it simply for its entertainment value! But I especially like the quote above – that if a man (or woman) believes enough, they can do anything! It’s so empowering – and especially poignant when told by the young man’s aging father as an encouragement to the next generation. What a positive thing to install in one’s children. What a legacy!

The greatest discovery of all time is that a person can change his  future by merely changing his attitude.                – Oprah Winfrey

I really like this!   I’m not convinced it rates as ‘the greatest discovery of all time’, but I do think the personal discovery that we are in control of our own destiny is pretty huge! Sure, there are things in life we can’t control, others that we can but regardless, we are responsible for our own attitudes. I like that – it’s liberating somehow. I’m one of those people who wants to take responsibility for who I am, where I go and what I do – and at the end of the day, there may be a multitude of events beyond my control – but my attitude is not one of them.  I think I probably have more influence over my life than I realise on a cognitive level – be that positive or negative.

I might even go so far as to say “My attitude is what I give to the world.”  

What attitude do I want to share with those around me?

What facets of my character are reflected in my attitude today?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “It’s All About Attitude

Leave a Reply

