The Warrior

I’ve been thinking about the concept of seeing myself as a warrior. A while back I was looking at areas in my life where I felt I’d been a failure. A lovely friend suggested that rather than being a failure, I had actually exhibited the characteristics of a warrior: the sense of going into battle time after time and fighting to survive; not always liking the outcome but never giving in and continuing to do what seemed necessary. A warrior is determined and has the courage to keep going.

I was blown away by these kind and empowering words – and I have returned to them time and again.  This is yet another reminder that attitude is determined by perspective.

warrior4

I love this concept and in an attempt to embrace it, I am starting to psychologically clothe myself with the characteristics that I think are requirements of a warrior – courage, determination, discipline, integrity, ambition, endurance, purpose, faith, compassion. I will require these things and more if I am to succeed.  I may not have huge amounts of all of these characteristics today – but I believe they may develop –similar to the way a snowball starts off small and gets bigger as it rolls along.

My hope is that I will come out the other side –  in one piece and in the knowledge that I fought a good fight, I was true to myself and I did what was necessary.

warrior1

33 thoughts on “The Warrior

  1. Awesome wonderful post! A warrior is a good thing to be by your description. I wanted to say that staying true to yourself is so important. Took me a very long time to learn that. A good friend of mine once told me to keep my side of the street clean and litter free. He said if I followed that path in all I did then all would be fine. I guess that means stay true to yourself hey? Thanks for the thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your kind words and your support. I agree that staying true to yourself is so important – I feel like I know it, but then I need to keep reminding myself. I love the idea of seeing myself as a warrior -it’s so positive and empowering!! Thanks again for commenting – really appreciated 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

      1. It’s funny my mind just thought of a warrior being used as to promote some sort of female awareness in oklahoma. I will have to figure out what and get back to you. But, my mind goes to the pic they used was a female warrior pride and true. You are most welcome. I enjoy your blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fantastic attitude! I love this idea … Of being a warrior. Of getting back up and moving forward, of never giving up on fighting for or pursuing what is good & right. And the hope of nurturing those wonderful warrior qualities is something we could all aspire too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a great post. I love this attitude, a warrior and not a worrier, as we often have a tendency to be. Of being true to ourselves and fighting to survive each day which is all any of us can do.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This is an extraordinary post!!! I am absolutely blown away with the strong message you are presenting to all of us and I too need reminders. I am so glad that so many people are able to relate to my friend the “WARRIOR” and I will most definitely be re-blogging this profound message. It must be shared! ☺

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Congratulations, Warrior, on this courageous thought. Sometimes, I think the bravest act is just putting one foot in front of another and leaning forward until a step is taken, then, repeating that act. I agree that it is in these smallest of acts that character is built and refined so that though it may start out embedded with self-doubt, fear, anxiety, dread, and timidity, every step reshapes us until golden we inspire others to take their first small step. Thank you for your post! Joanne

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It is an army such as this that I can embrace. ‘Warriors of Light’. If memory serves, that is the title of a Paulo Coelho book. From every tiny spark, a flame. Thank you for sharing and the opportunity to read so many comments from others who feel the same.x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind comments. I love that description: ‘Warriors of Light’ – and we can create little sparks around the world! Go us!! Have read several Paul Coelho books but not that one, will look it up. Thanks again for commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

