Compassion

Compassion is the wish to see others free from suffering                                                                                                                                        – Dalai Lama

Compassion really matters to me. It’s one of the basic characteristics that I value so greatly. I think of it as being intrinsic to the foundation of one’s character.  I admire it in others and I want to see proof if it exhibited in my own life, through my actions and in my behaviour.

Whether you believe in God, a Higher Power, or karma – I figure it pays to practice compassion because there may come a time when we will need it more than we can currently imagine.

Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment or the smallest act of caring – all of which have the potential to turn a life around                                                                                                                                                             – Leo Bascaglia

Everyone has a story, the depths of which we might never know – and that small act of compassion might be just what someone else needs. I really believe that those small acts of kindness, the traces of compassion we show others, have the potential to have a much greater impact than we will ever know.

Compassion is a characteristic that I think of in terms of how we see and treat others; it’s focus is someone else.

Not so.

A moment of self-compassion can change your entire day.  A string of such moments can change the course of your life                                                                                                                                – Christopher K. Germer

Wow!  Self-compassion!  I already think in terms of self-acceptance, but self-compassion… that’s a new concept for me – and it feels as if it has the power to be like a beautiful scented oil that you place in a bath – that might soften the skin, and leave a gentle perfume, as well as having a soothing medicinal effect, and is therefore good for both body and soul.

Imagine how different the world might be if we were to practice compassion towards ourselves and others every day.

I want to finish as I began – with some words of wisdom from the Dalai Lama:

If you want others to be happy, practice compassion.                                                     If you want to be happy, practice compassion.

 

8 thoughts on “Compassion

  1. Nicely put. I don’t tend to think of compassion towards oneself but I like it. I’m doing a blog series called 25 days of Compassion this month, compiling random acts, little things that I see and experience in my daily life of compassion. 🙂 It’s nice to have a fellow traveler.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love the idea of 25 days of compassion on a really personal level – looking forward to that. Yeah, I hadn’t really thought about self-compassion until I saw the quote. And I write to remind myself more than anything. Thanks for sharing – always a joy to make a connection with someone who has similar values – as you said, a fellow traveler – so glad you commented. Thanks again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had not thought about the idea of self compassion – that is a very interesting concept. I think, especially as I age, I am very hard on my little losses. I think that I will try to remember to be more self compassionate to this body that has carried me through adventure called life. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have elegantly stated something I have found to be true in all aspects of my life, especially my medical practice. Thank-you for these wise and wonderful words that I will surely share in the day’s to come.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It’s so true about compassion and many other things. If you sow compassion you will also harvest the same. Not so that we can expect the same back from this we give our compassion, but it will also come from elsewhere. I base my belief on the Christian Faith but it counts as a law I think. Thank you for your post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

