Einstein and the Vortex: the Downward Spiral of Depression

I want to pick up on one of those threads of spaghetti I talked about earlier – the “patterns of behaviour; a familiar sense of repetition, that downward spiral of: ‘why am I depressed?’; ‘why does this stuff keep happening to me?’ and ‘how do I get out of this place?’”

I wrote that what seemed different for me now, was my sense of perspective when I approached those questions, facing them from a different angle these days. Today I look at those questions and say – What am I doing differently from the last time I was here? Have I made any changes to my world, to my activities, to my behaviour?

I like the Einstein approach:                        If you always do what you always did,                                                                                   you will always get what you always got

Einstein also said that insanity was doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

So my current perspective is this: what can I choose to do differently today?

For me, life is all about small steps. My weight, my efforts at saving money, my efforts to change/grow/evolve who I am – they are all about making a decision and then taking a small step today in the right direction. If I want to lose weight – I need to be more mindful of what and how much I eat, and/or look at the amount of exercise I do. I can’t change the past but I can make a decision today that may have a positive impact on my future. All I can really control is my actions today. Same with my savings goals, or desire to consume less alcohol – I can only do something about how I respond to those things today. The past is over, and tomorrow will take care of itself – but I have today.

Keri Russell said “Sometimes it’s the smallest decisions that can change your life forever.” Or as Mark Batterson said “You are only one decision away from a totally different life.”

I can make a decision today, to change some facet of my life, and take a small step in that direction. The longest journey begins with one step -and today I can choose to take just that one step. Don’t worry about tomorrow – soon enough my tomorrow will morph into today and I’ll get another opportunity to make another choice, to take another step on that journey… or not. And if I take a step forward, and tomorrow I slide back to where I was, there is always a ‘now’ in which I can choose to take another step forward. And after a few days I may find that I have moved forward 4 steps and only gone back 3 steps, but hey, I’m still further down that track than I was on Day 1. And that’s progress. That’s small steps. That’s how I’ve managed my weight this year – by taking responsibility for my choices on a daily basis. And if I fail one day, or two days, or seventeen days, there’s always tomorrow. But it’s all about today’s step, because all I can control is my ‘now’. My thoughts, my attitudes, my choices, my actions.

I saw this quote:

Start where you are, use what you have, do what you can

2 thoughts on “Einstein and the Vortex: the Downward Spiral of Depression

Leave a Reply

